Thread: "Delan" 200sx - first ever project car

Rides

"Delan" 200sx - first ever project car

Hi all,
    I decided to keep my S14a for a long time and give all my love to it.
    My welcome post + a short story is available here: https://www.sxoc.com/vbb/showthread....0sx-new-owner)

1.jpg

2.jpg

I plan to keep this car stock with a few minor changes. They all will be revertable to its stock condition.
    I am also a newbie in the car repair/restoration thingy, so that I will count a lot for your help. So please excuse all my silly questions.

When I purchased the car - the previous owner told me there is no VVTI rattle, but sadly today - when I started the engine after a few days - I could hear the strange rattling noise at the very beginning of the engine start. It has gone away after 2 seconds, but I presume that is not a good sign.

I live in Leicester.
    Fortunately, there is a garage that actually owns silvias and regularly drifts on a track, and they know a lot about them.
    So I decided to drop my car at their garage for a full and general health check, including engine condition, etc.
    I will find out on Wednesday, fingers crossed.
    I will keep this thread updated when I will make any progress in the project.

Here is my plan:

1 - Bring the engine and turbo to their best condition
    2 - Check gearbox and clutch - repair if necessary
    3 - Get nicer wheels
    4 - Maybe some power increase mods (revertable, of course)
    5 - Repair any corrosion spotted
    6 - Enjoy

Thanks in advance for your time and help!

Rides
    Lovely! :-)

Just as a note on the VVT rattle: I have owned my SX for 16 years, 12 of those years as my only car and so was my daily driver. On start up, engage 1st gear, rev to pull away, and sometimes I would get, but not always, VVT rattle which would disappear after 2 seconds. Presumably as the oil pressure is stabalised. But it could sound nasty.

So my cure: