Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: New pc time

  1. #1
    Banned sideways14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Drunk as usual
    Posts
    34,697
    Rides
    0

    New pc time

    So the venerable old plodder, my old 5820k died on me the other week. Just no more, like a rabbit just after it sees the headlights of an oncoming truck it was all dark (except for the furry guts spread out bit)

    What a terrible time to need a new pc, and yes i NEED a new one as i work from this at home so.... emergancy.. onto amazon for as much on prime as possible.

    Not a chance was an intel going back into my main pc this time, the blue teams dogshit is next to worthless right now so it was always going to be a zen3, i did want the 12 core - cos.... well why do we all want 400plus horse power???

    But there is no stock of the 5900x, or the 5950 either and the 5800x, i could find one only.

    So next day a nice shiny new 5800x arrived, here is my cpu inspector inspecting said processor for treats.

    20210224-185532



    So along with it, new ram (cos ddr4), new MB (obviously, a 570x), a new cooler cos... my old one wont fit AM4, and other crap.

    So in it went, booted up fine and OMG without touching a button its boosting past 4.7ghz. These new zen3 chips, more clever than a clever ... er person.

    So after a few tweeks, literally playing with a few bios settings and curve optimiser / pbo its doing 5ghz plus on a couple of cores and a max all core of 4.55 at the moment, my agesa is 2 revisions out and the new ones are said to improve OC so i might see even higher soon.

    5ghz



    So er, yeah goes like a pair of rabbits on speed/viagra.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Helston, West Cornwall
    Posts
    24,410
    Rides
    0
    I spent over 35 years in IT without ever once getting excited about the speed of a processor.

    I find it disturbing that I can almost hear you cracking one out at the idea of a ryzen 7 lol.

  3. #3
    Banned sideways14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Drunk as usual
    Posts
    34,697
    Rides
    0
    Ehh? you never once thought about performance?
    What did you do in IT? Change passwords?

  4. #4
    Guest R3K1355's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    12,113
    Rides
    0
    I feel I'm in exactly the same boat, PC died on Sunday night. I'm hoping it's just the PSU but could easily have kicked the bucket big time.

    Really wanted to wait and get a Zen 3 APU, but as the Zen 2 never made it to consumer market I'm not holding out much hope.

  5. #5
    Banned sideways14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Drunk as usual
    Posts
    34,697
    Rides
    0
    The 5800U is supposedly coming out... er soon..Its supposed to be a monster, cpu side faster than the eggbox and paystation 5 processors, although i would expect the gpu side to be a bit down on them.


    But you could just get a low end gpu for a regular 5600x or 5800x

  6. #6
    Guest
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    North Ayrshire
    Posts
    122
    Rides
    0

    Got a 5800x myself great cpu, managed to order everthing on launch day, not everything came on launch day...... waited 4months for the GPU, which ended up getting upgraded for free so not all bad. Just needed some mods to fit lol.

  7. #7
    Guest
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Burton on Trent
    Posts
    11,195
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonny Wilkinson View Post
    I spent over 35 years in IT without ever once getting excited about the speed of a processor.

    I find it disturbing that I can almost hear you cracking one out at the idea of a ryzen 7 lol.
    Quote Originally Posted by sideways14a View Post
    Ehh? you never once thought about performance?
    What did you do in IT? Change passwords?
    I never got really excited by performance. Just utterly pissed at lack of performance.

    I've had access to a HPC that when commissioned was on the TOPS500 list ..... for 3 months. My largest FEA results file was 330Gb, took Abaqus 24 hours to do that analysis, then it took 24 hours to get the file back to my desktop. There was a bit of wet string doing semaphore in the network between my desk and the HPC.

    My work desktop was dual Xeon 16 cores, 64Gb ram, 3Tb raid 0, 1GHz network.

    In the past and former life before I was a stress and lifing technologist I was a CAD technician and for 1 year a network tech at a college. First thing I had to do as network tech was convert a "star" co-ax 10base2 network with 5 terminating resistors to a "bus". It had been installed by a proper star, the college's lecturer that taught networks on the HNC course.

    Every 386/486 I touched had the ISA frontside bus running at clock/2 after I had my hands on it. People noticed, there were staff and students asking why are these computers so much faster?

    Had a batch of 486DX33 come in to CAD dept as hand downs. They were "professionally" set-up by an authorised AutoCAD educational reseller. I knew they were borked, I hadn't been allowed to fix them. They had 4Mb on the motherboard and 16Mb on a ruddy 8Mhz expansion card, soon sorted that and the BIOS clock. Then they ran faster than the Pentium 66s that had replaced them in the business unit.

    Had 5 dual screen computers with VGA and Mono text cards for CAM. Had to "exchange" some of the mono cards to get it run the max ISA clock speed.

    The biggest pisser was when connecting CAD dept to college network. The IBM Model 70 needed a 125 super duper MCA bus network card. All the other generic 386/486 ISA PC's got 25 NE2000 clones. The IBM dropped packets, all the cheap ones were solid 100%, maybe cos the ISA bus was running at 12Mhz or 16Mhz and not 10 Mhz that MCA ran at. The IBM had been bought when 1500 suddenly turned up unspent in budget at end of the year. I could have put 2 seats with generic 386/33 in for that money instead of 1 IBM 386/20. People really should have been sacked for buying IBM.

  8. #8
    Guest Drifter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Rural
    Posts
    11,112
    Rides
    0
    Loving that case mode to get the GPU in, guessing 3080/3090?

    I've been using my new system with no issues at all with the 5600x, not really sure what I'm doing trying to speed it up tbh. I did have a play with the F clock setting it to 1/2 the Ram speed, but didn't seem to make much odds. It did have Game Mode on at once point which seemed to lock it to 4300mhz, but turning that off and making sure PBO was on it's up to 4700mhz. I couldn't wait for the RX6800 I ordered to changed to a 3060Ti to get the system before xmas. It's doing okay tbf, the only games I run at the moment that give it trouble are Assetto Corsa running SOL2.0 max settings and Far Cry Primal max settings both at 4K, card gets up to about 75C. Runs fine, just noisy, will have to see how it gets on with Far Cry 6 being a new title.

  9. #9
    Banned sideways14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Drunk as usual
    Posts
    34,697
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by evilz View Post
    [IMG]
    Got a 5800x myself great cpu, managed to order everthing on launch day, not everything came on launch day...... waited 4months for the GPU,
    Get T fook out a here, no bugger gets a cpu on launch day - yer pulling a fast one, you had to wait for 27 years like the rest of us.

  10. #10
    Banned sideways14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Drunk as usual
    Posts
    34,697
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Drifter View Post
    I've been using my new system with no issues at all with the 5600x, not really sure what I'm doing trying to speed it up tbh. I did have a play with the F clock setting it to 1/2 the Ram speed, but didn't seem to make much odds. It did have Game Mode on at once point which seemed to lock it to 4300mhz, but turning that off and making sure PBO was on it's up to 4700mhz.
    Ok so you have the basics, the 5600 is a great chip.

    So yeah its all done with PBO now, well PBO and curve optimiser - check for it in your bios and if not the latest bios then get it up to date cos there was some major changes in the last agesa for stability.

    So, first off the fabric clock - this is the doozy for reduced latency which means better in gaming and.. er everything. So get your f-clock sync with your dram clock.
    So in my case i got DDR4 3600 ran and if i was playing "STOCK" then my fabric clock should be 3600 divided by 2, as ddr4 ram speeds are xxxxmhz X 2 - cos.... so 3600 is 1800mhz which is what your actual dram frequency is and so should your fabric clock be. Basically make sure they are 1-1 or your leaving loads of power sitting on the table.

    Next up frequency and overclocking, so basically all core overclocking has snuffed it, dead, gone, out the door. Its all about the boost on single and x cores now.
    So with zen3 you can use PBO and get it to push 1 or 2 cores to a set limit, by stock and with a water cooler on there your 5600 would be right up at 4700 no prob so i am not surprised it jumped to that.
    But there is more, with the curve optimiser in the bios you can remove "or add" voltage to individual cores.
    You also can find the core offset in there, push that as high as you can - mine is 200mhz max (at the moment, it wont go further on the menu)

    Anyway
    Use rizen master and look for silver dots, silver stars or gold stars. I have a gold star on core 4 and a silver dot on core 1 - these will undervolt more than the other cores. Undervolting them makes the boost last longer on those cores (due to heat/power levels ect) - so if you can drop -5 off at a time on the curve optimiser in the bios, boot to windows and run some cinibench or for a quickie cpu Z. If your lucky you can get a core boosting for a long time at max boost which you set via the offset (the 200mhz i have, not sure if the 3600 is the same... prob is) - so what will happen is boosty workloads which most desktop and gaming loads are will get near 5ghz and all core workloads like cinibench max run will load all at as high as it thinks it can, in my case 4.55ghz all core.

    So you could see 4.8 or more out of that 5600, not bad for "baby" of the family... the baby... that kills most intel cpus dead.

    I seem to have got to 1933Mhz out of these 2x16 sticks, they aint fancy stuff but both clocked up to 1932 nice. That leaves me with a fabric at 3866Mhz which is pretty high but not award winning or owt.

    That leaves me with this cpuz bench https://valid.x86.fr/cdg0il
    For reference the i910850k is 24% slower in single thread and i am just 6% behind it on multithread - remember the i9 10850k is a 10 core intel cpu....!

    cachememnewagesa2
    Last edited by sideways14a; 10-03-2021 at 17:20.

  11. #11
    Banned sideways14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Drunk as usual
    Posts
    34,697
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skyshack View Post
    The IBM Model 70 needed a 125 super duper MCA bus network card.
    Unfortunately i am old enough to remember IBMs foray into trying to claw back the x86 desktop regency with a bespoke and utterly IBM bus system.
    But they didnt check first, the world had moved on and no one wanted overpriced shit any more.

    Remember Vesa local bus, i had so many deliveries of computers where i had (embarrassingly!) to take the lid off a brand new pc i was setting up for someone i just built at the workshop only for it to fail.
    Reason, VLB slots are longer than many a penis - heck you that dont know check them out... The ends would pivot off slightly with "spirited" driving to a deployment. So many times i had to reseat VLB controller and video cards.

    Yes we did eventually glue the ****ers down.

  12. #12
    Guest
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    North Ayrshire
    Posts
    122
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Drifter View Post
    Loving that case mode to get the GPU in, guessing 3080/3090?

    I've been using my new system with no issues at all with the 5600x, not really sure what I'm doing trying to speed it up tbh. I did have a play with the F clock setting it to 1/2 the Ram speed, but didn't seem to make much odds. It did have Game Mode on at once point which seemed to lock it to 4300mhz, but turning that off and making sure PBO was on it's up to 4700mhz. I couldn't wait for the RX6800 I ordered to changed to a 3060Ti to get the system before xmas. It's doing okay tbf, the only games I run at the moment that give it trouble are Assetto Corsa running SOL2.0 max settings and Far Cry Primal max settings both at 4K, card gets up to about 75C. Runs fine, just noisy, will have to see how it gets on with Far Cry 6 being a new title.
    3080, not for spending the silly money required to get a 3090. I have yet to play about with the timings on the memory got 3600mhz with cl 16 timings so its doing fine out the box.
    Nothing is taxing on the computer as I dont have solidworks anymore so not tried to under volt the cpu just set it up slightly on ryzen master.

    Any other software people recommend for tuning and performance? Got msi afterburner, amd ryzen master and techpowerup GPU-Z so far.

  13. #13
    Guest R3K1355's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    12,113
    Rides
    0
    Is the X570 board worth it over the B550, can you not run a B450?

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    1,828
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sideways14a View Post
    Ehh? you never once thought about performance?
    What did you do in IT? Change passwords?
    You bastar'd! That comeback made me spit out my tea!!

  15. #15
    Guest Asht_200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    ashflix.com
    Posts
    22,433
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skyshack View Post
    I never got really excited by performance. Just utterly pissed at lack of performance.

    I've had access to a HPC that when commissioned was on the TOPS500 list ..... for 3 months. My largest FEA results file was 330Gb, took Abaqus 24 hours to do that analysis, then it took 24 hours to get the file back to my desktop. There was a bit of wet string doing semaphore in the network between my desk and the HPC.

    My work desktop was dual Xeon 16 cores, 64Gb ram, 3Tb raid 0, 1GHz network.

    In the past and former life before I was a stress and lifing technologist I was a CAD technician and for 1 year a network tech at a college. First thing I had to do as network tech was convert a "star" co-ax 10base2 network with 5 terminating resistors to a "bus". It had been installed by a proper star, the college's lecturer that taught networks on the HNC course.

    Every 386/486 I touched had the ISA frontside bus running at clock/2 after I had my hands on it. People noticed, there were staff and students asking why are these computers so much faster?

    Had a batch of 486DX33 come in to CAD dept as hand downs. They were "professionally" set-up by an authorised AutoCAD educational reseller. I knew they were borked, I hadn't been allowed to fix them. They had 4Mb on the motherboard and 16Mb on a ruddy 8Mhz expansion card, soon sorted that and the BIOS clock. Then they ran faster than the Pentium 66s that had replaced them in the business unit.

    Had 5 dual screen computers with VGA and Mono text cards for CAM. Had to "exchange" some of the mono cards to get it run the max ISA clock speed.

    The biggest pisser was when connecting CAD dept to college network. The IBM Model 70 needed a 125 super duper MCA bus network card. All the other generic 386/486 ISA PC's got 25 NE2000 clones. The IBM dropped packets, all the cheap ones were solid 100%, maybe cos the ISA bus was running at 12Mhz or 16Mhz and not 10 Mhz that MCA ran at. The IBM had been bought when 1500 suddenly turned up unspent in budget at end of the year. I could have put 2 seats with generic 386/33 in for that money instead of 1 IBM 386/20. People really should have been sacked for buying IBM.
    I remember the PS2 Model 70 - wasnt that when token ring was doing the rounds?

    See its false economy. My 60 quid HP Elite I got from eBay probably does 90% of what most people need a PC for


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  16. #16
    Guest Drifter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Rural
    Posts
    11,112
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by R3K1355 View Post
    Is the X570 board worth it over the B550, can you not run a B450?
    When I spec'd mine Sideways suggested the X570, not sure why lol, but it was only 20 more from memory. https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/MPG-X570-GAMING-PLUS

    I'll probably blow it up later trying the suggestion above lol

  17. #17
    Guest Drifter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Rural
    Posts
    11,112
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Drifter View Post
    I'll probably blow it up later trying the suggestion above lol
    As suspected I broke it I changed F clock to 1900 and my ram to 3800 (they're 4000 sticks) and now it won't post. Just giving it some time to think before I hit the CMOS button.

  18. #18
    Banned sideways14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Drunk as usual
    Posts
    34,697
    Rides
    0
    Dont be worried about the odd crash, think of it like your driving lessons.... er ok maybe not.


    But seriously play with the overclocking and ram, there is 20 plus % of extra performance just sitting there needing some action on it to make it work, dont worry about reboots or resetting the bios its all part of the game.
    I remember when 20% cpu performance was a couple of models up in the cpu sku and cost hundreds so....

  19. #19
    Banned sideways14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Drunk as usual
    Posts
    34,697
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by R3K1355 View Post
    Is the X570 board worth it over the B550, can you not run a B450?
    I got the 570 as i wanted top line to last, that said the b550 is compelling for a pairing with say a 5600. Pci gen4 as well so...

    I think its just buy what you can actually buy lol, if its available then.... jump on it.

  20. #20
    Guest Asht_200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    ashflix.com
    Posts
    22,433
    Rides
    0
    Im going to need a new PC / server farm.

    I got the job. Now have to spec a farm for Azurestack...

    Luckily a friend was awarded microsoftomost valued partner 2 years in a row


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •