Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27

Thread: Which Bracket is used on R33 rear handbrake cables

  1. #1
    Guest jon200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dursley, Gloucestershire
    Posts
    7,615
    Rides
    0

    Which Bracket is used on R33 rear handbrake cables

    Just swapping my rear cables over for an R33 handbrake setup but i cant remember which brackets i used last time round to hold them. Is it the big one or small one onto the subframe or neither?




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Guest jflather_105's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    232
    Rides
    0
    I just tried to use R33 cables and found they were waaaaayyyyy too long, wouldnít line up with any holes at all


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Guest
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Benfleet essex
    Posts
    1,123
    Rides
    0
    I opened up the clamp and moved them around to suit holes I needed then recrimped in position and managed to use both


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Guest jon200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dursley, Gloucestershire
    Posts
    7,615
    Rides
    0
    Where would they go then? One in the original position but what about the other?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Guest jon200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dursley, Gloucestershire
    Posts
    7,615
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jflather_105 View Post
    I just tried to use R33 cables and found they were waaaaayyyyy too long, wouldnít line up with any holes at all


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Are you sure they were R33 cables? Only the rear sections need to be replaced.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Guest
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Benfleet essex
    Posts
    1,123
    Rides
    0
    There were 2 bolt holes I found on subframe and just bolted them in


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Guest jflather_105's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    232
    Rides
    0
    Ahh mine were going on an S13 so maybe the chassis is much shorter?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Guest
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Benfleet essex
    Posts
    1,123
    Rides
    0
    S13 you just use original cables as they already have internal drum?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Guest jon200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dursley, Gloucestershire
    Posts
    7,615
    Rides
    0
    I will have a look then. I dont really fancy dropping the subby but if i need to at least its all clean and new!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Guest
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Benfleet essex
    Posts
    1,123
    Rides
    0
    From memory one was a bit of a pig to get the bolt in, but managed to get it with subframe up and kept cables in good position and gave best grab out of all the conversions I've done


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Guest jflather_105's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    232
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kingk View Post
    S13 you just use original cables as they already have internal drum?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Mine didnít have the drum brake setup, someone I. Japan fitted S14 callipers for some unknown reason


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Guest
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Benfleet essex
    Posts
    1,123
    Rides
    0
    Oh really? Crazy japs haha


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Guest jon200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dursley, Gloucestershire
    Posts
    7,615
    Rides
    0
    I have seen that before, maybe later 180ís


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  14. #14
    Guest
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    walsall/tamworth
    Posts
    6,704
    Rides
    0
    some 180's have the s14 style rear breaks.
    if your fitting r33 calipers and discs you can use UK spec s13 handbrake cables and all the innards/ back plates

  15. #15
    Now with 400bhp....
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    South west
    Posts
    36,377
    Rides
    1
    Use the longer brackets and they bolt in on top of the subframe, as mentioned they may need to be slid along to be in the correct place.
    South west Events and local meet info. See here


    My car on THRLL: http://thrll.com/car/1998-nissan-200sx-12410
    Chris Cooke Photograpy: https://www.facebook.com/ChrisCookePhotography
    1998 Nissan 200sx s14a , 2000 std 5 speed with nismo supercoppermix clutch bn6 Sapphire Blue

  16. #16
    Guest surewire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    36
    Rides
    0

    Which Bracket is used on R33 rear handbrake cables

    I threw all theR33 brackets off and replaced the old brackets from the old S14 cable onto the R33 cable and grab some of those rubber oval thingy from Z32 cables and insert them onto the R33 cables that goes trough the hole of the traction arm subframe. LOL Iím terrible giving instructions sorry.

    Before you clamp tightly those S14 brackets that you just put onto the R33 cable, make sure everything mounted and bolted on then move freely and such and such and then clamp the bracket tightly on the R33 cable.
    Last edited by surewire; 28-03-2019 at 16:28.

  17. #17
    Guest jon200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dursley, Gloucestershire
    Posts
    7,615
    Rides
    0
    Thats what i just did although not through the traction arm hole. The cable is sat close to the ARB droplink though. Maybe i need tonlook at other routes. Got a pic?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  18. #18
    Guest jon200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dursley, Gloucestershire
    Posts
    7,615
    Rides
    0
    I cant see how the cable will run through the subframe still utilising the original mount points so i have left them how they sit best. Just need something to hold the cable up a little to there is more clearance from the ARB droplink nut.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  19. #19
    Now with 400bhp....
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    South west
    Posts
    36,377
    Rides
    1


    Thatís how mine are routed. On the right as the left hadnít been fitted at that point.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    South west Events and local meet info. See here


    My car on THRLL: http://thrll.com/car/1998-nissan-200sx-12410
    Chris Cooke Photograpy: https://www.facebook.com/ChrisCookePhotography
    1998 Nissan 200sx s14a , 2000 std 5 speed with nismo supercoppermix clutch bn6 Sapphire Blue

  20. #20
    Guest jon200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dursley, Gloucestershire
    Posts
    7,615
    Rides
    0
    Cheers Chris. Should be ok then.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •