Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25

Thread: Misfire after turbonoz chip

  1. #1
    Guest ps13ben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    156
    Rides
    0

    Misfire after turbonoz chip

    So then the short story...
    Iíve installed nismo 555cc injectors which I had cleaned, serviced and flow checked.
    Also Iíve installed a Garrett GT2871r along with a tubular mani and an external Westgate so with the other supporting mods for stage 2 I have gone with the turbonoz Chip which Iíve installed myself.

    Now on starting this newly installed setup Iíve now encountered a misfire (cylinder 3 to be exact)
    On close inspection of the ecu chipped setup everything seems fine (this isnít my first rodeo)

    Has anyone else encountered any issues with using these chips or anything I have missed which I should of done because mechanically everything looks spot on?

  2. #2
    Guest jay1017's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Dudley
    Posts
    459
    Rides
    0
    Mechanical issue.

    Iíve ran a turbonoz as long as I can remember with nothing but excellent results.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Guest ps13ben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    156
    Rides
    0
    I see what your saying there but Iíve checked everything mechanically, just nothing on cylinder 3.
    Bloody annoying as hell!
    Did you install your own jay?
    Iíll take some pics of the ECU circuit board and pop them up on here

  4. #4
    Guest jay1017's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Dudley
    Posts
    459
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ps13ben View Post
    I see what your saying there but Iíve checked everything mechanically, just nothing on cylinder 3.
    Bloody annoying as hell!
    Did you install your own jay?
    Iíll take some pics of the ECU circuit board and pop them up on here
    No issue with spark or anything? I used to have issues because of my coilpack loom ground not being too good. Cleaned it up and it was all good.

    Iím running a CA, but had the ecu eprom socketed by my friend. Put the chip in myself. Usually if you do something wrong, the car wont run at all.

    I guess youíve checked compression and stuff?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Guest ps13ben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    156
    Rides
    0
    I could change out the spark plug on CYL 3 and see if that helps but all coil pack use the same ground so should be ok as the other cylinders would be messing around as well.

    The SR has just recently had a rebuild of everything as was running sweet as before i changed out the injectors, turbo and installed the CHIP set.
    Id just feel better if i could prove it wasn't the ECU if you know what i mean.

    below are the pics of the ECU, maybe another set of eyes on it will help
    IMG_0988.jpg
    IMG_0989.jpg
    IMG_0990.jpg
    IMG_0991.jpg
    IMG_0992.jpg

  6. #6
    Dorset & Hants Rep pointz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    southampton
    Posts
    7,453
    Rides
    0
    555's for stage 2?

    Is it a custom chip
    Simply Japanese @ Beaulieu motor museum 28th July
    https://www.sxoc.com/vbb/showthread....81#post6822081

  7. #7
    Dorset & Hants Rep pointz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    southampton
    Posts
    7,453
    Rides
    0
    Ignore me just realised your sr
    Simply Japanese @ Beaulieu motor museum 28th July
    https://www.sxoc.com/vbb/showthread....81#post6822081

  8. #8
    Guest ps13ben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    156
    Rides
    0
    No worries

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,026
    Rides
    0
    spark plug gapping to accommodate the extra air in the cylinder?

  10. #10
    Guest ps13ben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    156
    Rides
    0
    It’s misfiring on idle matey so should all be as standard at that point, I haven’t taken it for a drive because if it’s missing on idle then it’s probably going to be missing under normal driving conditions.
    So bloody annoying as I just want to test drive the thing...

  11. #11
    Guest jay1017's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Dudley
    Posts
    459
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ps13ben View Post
    Itís misfiring on idle matey so should all be as standard at that point, I havenít taken it for a drive because if itís missing on idle then itís probably going to be missing under normal driving conditions.
    So bloody annoying as I just want to test drive the thing...
    Tried swapping cyl 3 coilpack to another cylinder and seeing if that one misfires?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Guest ps13ben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    156
    Rides
    0
    That’s something I didn’t do because I ran out of time (had to wrap the wife’s presents with insulation tape before she got back).
    It will be one of my first jobs though when I get back down to the garage along with swapping plugs as well

  13. #13
    West Of Ireland Rep NismoNut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Mayo, Ireland
    Posts
    1,138
    Rides
    0
    Try swapping the coil pack to see if the misfire follows it.
    Also double check the injector plugs. From what Iíve seen, 3 and 4 can be mixed up easily


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    My S14.5 Rebuild Thread - clicky --
    http://www.sxoc.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=468362

  14. #14
    Guest ps13ben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    156
    Rides
    0
    Thanks man, i have a list of things to head down there to try out once I'm allowed to leave the house.
    it also accused to me that i was moving a lot of bits about down by the ignitor so could of dislodged one of the cores that lead to coil pack 3

    might push me to make a loom and move over to the newer R8/1.8TT coil packs....

  15. #15
    Guest
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Laandaan
    Posts
    1,858
    Rides
    0
    Does sound ignition related, I've had SR coils fail overnight for zero apparent reason too, which is why I went to VAG coils and never had an issue again! Would recommend doing this even if you sort the misfire, looms are super easy to make and the coils are much better than the 20-odd year old Nissan offerings.

  16. #16
    Guest ps13ben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    156
    Rides
    0
    After trolling the mighty web it seems like your correct on the tired SR coils, even heard mixed reviews on the spitfire equivalents which cost a mint!
    i have 8 VAG coils and plugs laying around because i use them on the V8 so its a no brainer really, i just want to make sure its the coils that are causing the issue instead of a larger problem being that blooming ECU.

  17. #17
    Guest jay1017's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Dudley
    Posts
    459
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ps13ben View Post
    After trolling the mighty web it seems like your correct on the tired SR coils, even heard mixed reviews on the spitfire equivalents which cost a mint!
    i have 8 VAG coils and plugs laying around because i use them on the V8 so its a no brainer really, i just want to make sure its the coils that are causing the issue instead of a larger problem being that blooming ECU.
    No brainer not to go VAG then! Iíve had a look at your ECU pics and everything seems good, you did a nice job soldering and I couldnít spot any dry spots or anything so I highly doubt itís ECU related.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  18. #18
    Guest ps13ben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    156
    Rides
    0
    Well I guess it’s going to be a process of elimination, it just happens to land over the Xmas period when everyone is off so I can’t get the loom side plug for the coils and the plugs to bypass the igniter until the start of January. Bugger
    I could just go over the grounds to check they are all sounds in the mean time and just clean the engine bay more ha

  19. #19
    Guest
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    kent
    Posts
    5,230
    Rides
    0
    Long shot/ curve ball but if it's not the spark on 3 then could be injector? Not sure how robust they are but if something has knackered it between flow test and install the spray pattern could be off?

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Near Brighton
    Posts
    341
    Rides
    0
    Always fun fault finding XD as people have said:
    1:Check plugs and sockets on the coil packs, injectors, ECU pins/plugs and coil pack amp. Worth looking at grounding points too.
    2:Swap coils, see if it makes a difference and the problem travels with the coil pack
    3:If that doesn’t help then try swapping injectors.
    4: New plugs, check the spec is correct for your setup. Probably want NGK BKR7EIX but check correct for your setup, boost/power dependent
    Last edited by shikari chaos; 26-12-2018 at 18:41.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •