Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Electrical Issue - R34 GTT - No Brake Lights

  1. #1
    Guest StuartUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Gloucester/Cardiff
    Posts
    4,098
    Rides
    0

    Electrical Issue - R34 GTT - No Brake Lights

    Hey guys,

    Just found an issue today, stuck what to do.
    I have the R34 GTT, all has been fine and so on for ages... Not driven car since last weekend.
    Went out today, just found out the Brake Lights don't work....

    I can turn on the lights as normal, but when I press Brake pedal, whether in ' no lights', 'side lights' or full lights' mode, I get no Brake Lights frown.giffrown.gif

    I changed the 10A Red fuse from the Fuse box in the engine Bay, which is labelled as 'TAIL' which is between 'TCS' and 'HORN' , but still no lights, and not sure the 'TAIL' fuse relates to brake lights...
    The fuse panel down by the pedals = in Jap (so cant read which fuse is for what!) Not even sure its a fuse problem.
    Is there a 'Sender' unit that sends the brake light signal to the lights, via a Fuse ??

    Not sure its a good idea taking an electrical issue to Nissan, especially on these cars.
    Close garage to me that has Skyline knowledge is: Lichfield Imports , but I would rather they be a last resort given the rates they charge are high!
    Any of you Gloucester peeps know or recommend a place for auto electricians ?


    Not sure what to check, or where, etc. Any help, i would be very grateful

  2. #2
    Member jon200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dursley, Gloucestershire
    Posts
    7,585
    Rides
    0
    There will be a switch on the arm that the pedal is attached to. It could have been knocked.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Guest StuartUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Gloucester/Cardiff
    Posts
    4,098
    Rides
    0
    Since posting this message, had a few peeps say looking for the 'blue' brake switch at the top of the pedal to see if anything come loose.....
    Its tight, nothing loose, etc
    I did read that the Brake Switch's do fail, but could be either Brake Switch or the Fuse which has popped.. The fuse which is in the panel by the accelerator pedal....
    However, the fuse panel cover has all the fuse names in Japanese! Cant read which fuse is for the Brake Switch Sender....

  4. #4
    Guest WTFIA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    795
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by StuartUK View Post
    Since posting this message, had a few peeps say looking for the 'blue' brake switch at the top of the pedal to see if anything come loose.....
    Its tight, nothing loose, etc
    I did read that the Brake Switch's do fail, but could be either Brake Switch or the Fuse which has popped.. The fuse which is in the panel by the accelerator pedal....
    However, the fuse panel cover has all the fuse names in Japanese! Cant read which fuse is for the Brake Switch Sender....




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Guest StuartUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Gloucester/Cardiff
    Posts
    4,098
    Rides
    0
    Big hugs for when I see u next dude!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. #6
    Guest ianlea73's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    3,528
    Rides
    0
    On the brake pedal remove the plug to the brake switch. Check the switch by pressing the switch & use a multimeter to read continuity.

  7. #7
    Guest StuartUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Gloucester/Cardiff
    Posts
    4,098
    Rides
    0
    <------ Lacks any skill to do with cars, etc !! Don't have a multimeter either
    I changed the fuse that relates to the Stop Lights, but still nothing.
    So most likely, it could be this switch (I ordered a new one for Tuesday).
    As I aint the smallest, it might be a mission for me to get my head in the footwell so I can unclip the switch and use a paperclip to prod the connectors.... Will try shortly

  8. #8
    Member jon200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dursley, Gloucestershire
    Posts
    7,585
    Rides
    0
    If there is a plug onto the brake switch with two wires to it you could join them together with a paper clip which will, or should make the brake lights come on.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Guest StuartUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Gloucester/Cardiff
    Posts
    4,098
    Rides
    0
    Jon ! This is me were talking about !
    I would most likely plug into something else and electrocute myself !! : D

    I'll report back when I get the switch swapped over.

  10. #10
    Guest StuartUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Gloucester/Cardiff
    Posts
    4,098
    Rides
    0
    Anyone fancy earning some cash + cup of Tea ?!
    This Tues/weds/thurs/fri evening, swapping a brake switch ! (if I do it, more things will go wrong!)
    Gloucester (Junc 12 M5)

  11. #11
    Guest ianlea73's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    3,528
    Rides
    0
    If you want to bring it to Bristol I'll do it. Takes about 5 mins including that cuppa chap.

  12. #12
    Guest StuartUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Gloucester/Cardiff
    Posts
    4,098
    Rides
    0
    How far off the M5/M4 are u ? (worried about driving with no brake lights!)

  13. #13
    Guest ianlea73's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    3,528
    Rides
    0
    Junction 18 m4. I'm less than 10 mins off that.

  14. #14
    Guest StuartUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Gloucester/Cardiff
    Posts
    4,098
    Rides
    0
    I got a temporary fix in place....
    I don't fully understand the fix, but a mate who is an electrician, done a:
    Bypass from Brake Switch to Fuse Panel, and temporary ran the wire into the ABS fuse point.......
    Quick fix is, I have brake lights, but it shows that there is a break between fuse panel and brake switch.....
    Next call is to the Auto electrician guy !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •