Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Turbo part number

  1. #1
    Guest paresh521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    London
    Posts
    88
    Rides
    0

    Turbo part number

    I'm after a new turbo as mine has a dodgy wastegate so I'm thinking to replace the whole unit while it gets taken out and gaskets, turbo elbow etc get changed.

    My mechanic is going to hunt around for me to see prices of turbos (hopefully at trade) so,

    What is the standard s14a turbo model?

    And what turbos provide a direct fit?

    Thanks

    Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
    Last edited by paresh521; 02-08-2017 at 15:22. Reason: spelling mistake

  2. #2
    Guest jflather_105's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    232
    Rides
    0
    Think the S14 runs a T28R


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Guest paresh521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    London
    Posts
    88
    Rides
    0
    That's what I thought.

    On Garretts website there are a few T28s

    Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Guest CrazySx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Isleworth/Harrow
    Posts
    5,149
    Rides
    0
    Standard 14a is a t28. S15 was a t28r.

    Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Guest zeppelin101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    9,760
    Rides
    0
    If you're looking on the current Garrett website it's actually a GT2560r these days. The ball bearing is the only one available brand new.

  6. #6
    Guest JC SX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Caterham
    Posts
    2,333
    Rides
    0
    If your buying new from Garrett and want to keep it OEM power then the GT2560r is the one
    GT2871r is if your feeling like going to 350bhp but it needs a list of supporting mods, injectors, intercooler, induction, exhaust, fuel pump, ECU chip etc


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Guest paresh521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    London
    Posts
    88
    Rides
    0
    What was the stock turbo in the S15?

    Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Guest
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    walsall/tamworth
    Posts
    6,663
    Rides
    0
    GT2560r on the s15.

  9. #9
    Guest paresh521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    London
    Posts
    88
    Rides
    0
    What about the GT2860R and the GT2860RS?

    Worth enquiring about those?



    Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Guest zeppelin101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    9,760
    Rides
    0
    I wouldn't bother, they aren't much of an upgrade. A GT2860r is essentially the same compressor as a GT2560r with a larger turbine, it will just add more lag with very little increase in peak power.

    The GT25 turbine is pretty reasonable, I always wondered how one would behave if it had a GTX 60mm wheel bolted to it that was more efficient and capable of flowing more gas.
    Last edited by zeppelin101; 02-08-2017 at 10:48.

  11. #11
    Guest paresh521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    London
    Posts
    88
    Rides
    0
    Ok, will get some prices for GT2560r and the GT2871r.

    Any other equivalents worth looking at?

    Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Guest speedingmofa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Posts
    600
    Rides
    0

    This is the part # for the S15 ball bearing turbo, known as the T28R, but is actually a T2560r: 14411-91F00
    Last edited by speedingmofa; 03-08-2017 at 10:26.

  13. #13
    Guest
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    walsall/tamworth
    Posts
    6,663
    Rides
    0
    depends on what you want to do. if you want to start chasing BHP figures then you will have to upgrade other parts and not just the turbo. you cant just fit a massive turbo on its own as your standard ECU wont be able to fuel the engine correctly.

  14. #14
    Guest
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Lincoln
    Posts
    463
    Rides
    0
    UK part number for T28r is 466541-0001. That's off my uk supplied t2560r

  15. #15
    Guest paresh521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    London
    Posts
    88
    Rides
    0
    Can the GT2871r run on a stock setup?

    I will eventually get a full exhaust system, FMIC, injectors etc down the line but probably not in the same day

    Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

  16. #16
    Guest
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Lincoln
    Posts
    463
    Rides
    0
    A s14/a/15 sr20det can run it on standard management as long as the boost is kept the same.

    Disregard, thought I read t2560r sorry. I wouldn't run a GT2871r without mapping.
    Last edited by jbsauce; 02-08-2017 at 13:46.

  17. #17
    Guest Hugh Janus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    7,364
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jbsauce View Post
    A s14/a/15 sr20det can run it on standard management as long as the boost is kept the same.
    1bar of boost through a standard turbo, will not be the same as 1bar through a 2871.

    whilst you could do it as a temporary solution (say going from home to mappers)

  18. #18
    Guest paresh521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    London
    Posts
    88
    Rides
    0
    To be honest, i'm only changing the turbo because when I take it out, I have no idea whether the wastegate penny flap is screwed or the housing is cracked. If its the penny flap, from my understanding it is an simple fix with a bit of spot welding. But I don't want to pull it out only to have to leave the car disassembled while I wait for a new unit.

    Unless there is any other way of checking that it is the penny flap?

  19. #19
    Guest speedingmofa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Posts
    600
    Rides
    0
    Remove elbow, have someone pump some pressure through the wastegate and use an endoscope through phone ($18) to have a look

  20. #20
    Guest paresh521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    London
    Posts
    88
    Rides
    0
    I saw another post from about 10 years ago about the welds on the wastegate.

    So I took the car apart this morning to have a look.

    On the exterior of the housing, where the wastegate rod/sleeve connects to the actuator, there looks to be a bit of weld that has come off the housing.

    Hopefully that made sense, if not I've attached a couple of pics.

    Is that where the arm should have been attached to the housing?

    Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •