Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A few engine questions, wanting to increase power

Rides

A few engine questions, wanting to increase power

Hi Everyone! I'm new here and I'm new to the SR20DET engine! Finally purchased my dream s15 so I'm mega happy!

I'm now looking to increase the power of my engine and I have a few questions I'm hoping you all can answer for me, so ill just get right to them!

I'd like to aim for as much HP as possible without forging but we'll see how the future goes!

1) What can the standard internals take (standard question that I presumes been asked 1000 times!)

2) Whats the standard turbos HP capability? (Infact what is the standard turbo?)

3) Whats the engine capable of forged?

4)If I do decided to go forged where would be my first call for pistons, rods ect... (i.e what brands are best or commonly used?)

I have a small plan in mind, does this sound reasonable to everyone?

Target of 450HP
    Free flow air filter
    Free flow exhaust (custom made to suit the turbo, vband)
    Walbro 255
    Electronic Boost controller (probably AEM)
    FMIC Hardpipe
    Tubular top mount manifold
    740cc nismo injectors
    Z32 AFM
    GT3071r T3 divided .82ar housing
    External Wastegate (Need to research these)
    Uprated dump valve (Need to research these)
    Cooler spark plugs (Already fitted)
    Aftermarket cams (undecided which cams yet; id need to research duration and lift ect..)

Anyone have any similar spec s15s?

Thanks guys!

Rides
    Don't make the mistake everyone makes and upgrade the engine imediately. Drive it stock for a while, then go from there and every time you upgrade do it with high HP in mind. On the way you will either change your mind, run out of money or motivation but at least you will have a car on the road and not a shell and some pieces of what used to be a good engine.

Rides
    You would need to add a gearbox conversion to that list as the stock ones are weaker than the engine I'd say

Rides