Thread: 8:5:1 v 9:0:1 comp ratios

Now with 400bhp....
    Rides

8:5:1 v 9:0:1 comp ratios

There is a slight chance I may have to have my sr rebuilt, after speaking to a few people some have suggested raising the comp ratio to 9:0:1 to aid off boost torque etc. What are the downsides to this, does it affect top end and make det much more likely?

I'm guessing any machine work to the block/head and mhg thickness will affect the ratio too?

I've currently got a standard bottom end with a cosworth 1.5mm mhg, I guess this has dropped my ratio?

I'm a total noob to this and don't really have much clue as you can tell so please forgive my ignorance.
    1998 Nissan 200sx s14a , 2000 std 5 speed with nismo supercoppermix clutch bn6 Sapphire Blue

Rides
    I have gone for 86.5mm pistons 8:5:1, I had the head skimmed & also the block decked so used a 1.5mm cosworth gasket.

Depends on how much work your doing, oversizing, decking, skimming etc to know exactly the route to go down.

Now with 400bhp....
    Rides
    Thinking standard bore, decked block head was skimmed a couple years back so will take advice on this.

Car would be running a gt2871r for a while but upgraded to a gtx hybrid or gt3076 etc in the future.
    1998 Nissan 200sx s14a , 2000 std 5 speed with nismo supercoppermix clutch bn6 Sapphire Blue

Now with 400bhp....
    Rides
    will only know about bore once been checked I guess. Do you gain much from the over sized piston

Rides
    No reason not to run 9:1 with modern fuels imo. Increasing ethanol content makes them slightly more knock resistant than the RON rating suggests in practise.

CR is a function of head volume, piston volume, gasket thickness and swept volume. So just buying "9:1 pistons" without knowing what the dish cc isn't going to help you much in working out where you have ended up.