Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: S14 as a Daily

Rides

S14 as a Daily

Hi all, newbie here.

I know this has been covered and have read into it all but wanted to adapt it to myself and get a proper answer from proper people.
    As the titles suggests I want to get a s14 as a daily. Had one a while ago but was a rust bucket so got rid of t but loved it at the same time and want a straight and true one. Currently driving a mk5 gti golf but just feels like it missing what the s14 had. Mpg will be the same so nothing new, same with tax. I will only run it at around 250 bhp and my trips to work are 8 miles there and back. It will do some long runs for time away and shows but do have a motorbike for the sunny days. Thought mx5 but no turbo or rear seats and just don't personally like the beamers.
    Is it going to bite me in the back if innit it as a daily. Or will the smiles per gallon be worth the days it's off the road if off the road at all. Have a semi decent mechanical knowledge but don't know how to weld at all but if there is rust I will get it done as these cars are going up in price.
    Only negative is insurance really as when I was 20 with 2 years ncb it was 700 to insure now I'm 23 with 5 years ncb quotes are 900

Thanks in advance

Rides
    I used to daily mine s14a and had no really issues. A bit crap in the snow but summer tyres were partially to blame.

try adrian flux, sky insurance and greenlight if you havent already got quotes from them.

Rides
    They're fine as a daily as long as you can resist 'upgrading' out all the comforts.

Rides
    I used mine as a daily with an Rb26, buckets and full cage up to a few years ago, do it.

Rides
    Would be fine just don't **** with it

Rides
    I have a daily zenki and only real issue so far is the diff bushes but i run a welder so no surprise really.

Rides