Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: S15 coilpacks on S14 loom, bypass ignitor pack.

  1. #1
    S13 'Vert yo Mitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Derby
    Posts
    9,002
    Rides
    0

    S15 coilpacks on S14 loom, bypass ignitor pack.

    Is there a how to anywhere on fitting S15 coilpacks onto an S14 loom?

    Thanks.
    Member 504

  2. #2
    Guest norfy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ashford, Kent
    Posts
    1,283
    Rides
    0
    thought they have the same connector? surely its just a case of bypassing the ptu and plugging in the s15 coils?


    ptu bypass is easy and theres a few ways of doing it. can either gut and bypass an old ptu internally, chop the connectors and solder, or buy a plug in bypass from wiring specialities
    Last edited by norfy; 05-03-2017 at 11:57.

  3. #3
    I <3 BBS LM Actual_Ben_Taylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    South East
    Posts
    23,361
    Rides
    0
    The + and - are the opposite way around on the S15 coils IIRC

  4. #4
    S13 'Vert yo Mitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Derby
    Posts
    9,002
    Rides
    0
    I've not tried plugging it in yet, Mark. Just thought I'd look it up before I get round to doing the job. So it's as simple as joint the opposite ones up, with a jumper or hollowed out PTU, then plug in the coil pack loom?
    Member 504

  5. #5
    S13 'Vert yo Mitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Derby
    Posts
    9,002
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Actual_Ben_Taylor View Post
    The + and - are the opposite way around on the S15 coils IIRC
    Ah, and adapting the loom too if that's correct.
    Member 504

  6. #6
    S13 'Vert yo Mitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Derby
    Posts
    9,002
    Rides
    0
    Looks straightforward enough looking at the patch loom from there, Norfy...http://www.wiringspecialties.com/s13...n-chip-bypass/
    Member 504

  7. #7
    Guest norfy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ashford, Kent
    Posts
    1,283
    Rides
    0
    that looks like a good option tbh, had a buddy recently get one over and the quality looks good.

  8. #8
    Guest auz200sx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    796
    Rides
    0
    Strange i just plugged my S15 coils stright into my S14 no problems at all. Although I did have to use a few washers to make up the gap on the lock down bolt as the coils were slightly too long.
    Last edited by auz200sx; 06-03-2017 at 19:50.

  9. #9
    Guest
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    16
    Rides
    0
    Had to flip two wires at the connector, and bypass ptu.

    Pretty easy to move the wires in the connector.
    If looking strait at the connector (terminal side), the pins should be:
    S13/S14 - [ - + Sig ]
    S15 - [ + - Sig ]

  10. #10
    Guest norfy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ashford, Kent
    Posts
    1,283
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lost View Post
    Had to flip two wires at the connector, and bypass ptu.

    Pretty easy to move the wires in the connector.
    If looking strait at the connector (terminal side), the pins should be:
    S13/S14 - [ - + Sig ]
    S15 - [ + - Sig ]

    this is correct looking at the diagrams.

    you could make it even easier than swapping the pins round in the connector if you used a s15 coil harness with the s15 coils, the terminal layout on the s14/a/15 is the same

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •