Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 30 of 30

Thread: CA18DET stage 2 running lean

  1. #21
    Guest
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    203
    Rides
    0
    Thanks mate, yep I've sealed that end cap up. It starts up at about 1500 1600 rpm. Then drops to 1100. Yeah I don't think that's a one way valve, will check and block it off to test.

  2. #22
    Guest
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    203
    Rides
    0
    Cleaned the IACV and it improved the the idel a little it dropped to 1000rpm then I just adjusted the idle screw in that assembly. Then Timed it up.
    Its running around 15 AFR at idle now.



    Looking at that silly vent thing, man it was just a vent no one way valve or anything. I wonder why it was there? Oh well that's improved things a lot.
    Thnaks for your help guys.


  3. #23
    Dorset & Hants Rep pointz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    southampton
    Posts
    7,503
    Rides
    0
    I have no idea why someone would put that there tbh maybe to try look cool lol.

    Did you try blanking it off to see if it helped? Also bud have you sealed the leak on the back of your plenum (the vid you uploaded)?
    As that will also be drawing in un-metered air causing higher idle.

    Sounds like you are getting somewhere though good work

  4. #24
    Guest ANDY black s13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    erith kent england
    Posts
    6,350
    Rides
    0
    I think it's one of these things
    https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=ec...w=1280&bih=689
    http://fuelsaving13.blogspot.co.uk/2...ek-cb-26p.html
    some claimed a slight fuel mpg increase back in the day,
    but tbh its cr@p just like electric superchargers and other things that don't do fcuk all

  5. #25
    Guest ANDY black s13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    erith kent england
    Posts
    6,350
    Rides
    0
    Did you reseal the IACV (idle air valve thing) with a new gasket or some silicone sealer?
    as he could be another vacume/air leak if you didn't
    is the throttle closing fully onto the stop screw? worth checking it is
    a leak will as pointz mentioned raise the idle speed,and leaner running
    need to get the idle down to 850 and recheck timing as it won't be right or bang on 15 if done at 1,000
    and well done for having a go at sorting the little faults
    potentially you have saved a engine disaster happening and it should run better after
    Last edited by ANDY black s13; 14-06-2015 at 00:36.

  6. #26
    Guest
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    203
    Rides
    0
    Hey Andy that is exactly what it is. It's identical to that. Yep resealed everything with silicon gasket. I've ordered a gasket set and will re do all when it arrives. I still think I can hear a vac leak but can't isolate it even when spraying carb cleaner. I got the idle down to 850 by adjusting the 10mm bolt in that unit. Then retimed it.

    Pointz - yep I locked off the servo off as well. Again just waiting for a check valve to arrive.

    Cheers guys.

  7. #27
    Dorset & Hants Rep pointz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    southampton
    Posts
    7,503
    Rides
    0
    Good work dude glad you are doing it properly!

  8. #28
    Guest
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    203
    Rides
    0
    I got the check valve and fitted it and went for a quick drive. I tell you what the brakes are better!!!! hahhah

  9. #29
    Dorset & Hants Rep pointz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    southampton
    Posts
    7,503
    Rides
    0
    The brakes are better but what about the overall running of the car mate?

  10. #30
    Guest
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    203
    Rides
    0
    yeah its better, its running a lot colder so that's great. IM sure I can hear another vac leak but cant pinpoint even with starter fluid sprayed everywhere, maybe its just the induction noise?. I need to properly log the AFRs but under load im seeing 11- 13. Will properly write it down next time.
    Last edited by van_denton_san; 16-06-2015 at 11:16.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •