Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 30

Thread: CA18DET stage 2 running lean

  1. #1
    Guest
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    203
    Rides
    0

    CA18DET stage 2 running lean

    Fixed the wideband and if its accurate looks like im running really lean, which makes sense as the MOT emissions was only .1 c02.

    its running 16 to 18 afr at idle but richens up when I rev it.

    Its running a gt2860 at .7 bar standard, havnt turned it up yet to match the HD chip. It has a walbro pump.





    So wondering if I have an air leak somewhere, I can here a loud induction roar from the intake manifold but spraying wd 40 doesn't change anything so I figure its normal maybe?

    Also this



    the CAS is running in the middle setting, I got told to put it there till I do the timming which I still need to do. It doesn't misfire or backfire and comes into boost fine.

    Not sure if it should have a breather on the vacuum.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Dorset & Hants Rep pointz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    southampton
    Posts
    7,503
    Rides
    0
    Umm wtf is going on with that breather? Can we see a bigger pic showing your pipe routing?

    Regarding cas i would get your timing checked before using boost especially if you are running lean your engine is about to die!!!
    Also could be worth hardwiring fuelpump, when was fuel filter last changed?

    What are your afr's when driving (under load)?

    Shame your not closer to southampton.
    But lets get that mess of pipework sorted before anything!

  3. #3
    Guest
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    eaton socon
    Posts
    347
    Rides
    0
    by the look of it it goes to the brake servo? but surely it cant

  4. #4
    Dorset & Hants Rep pointz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    southampton
    Posts
    7,503
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by john905 View Post
    by the look of it it goes to the brake servo? but surely it cant
    That's where it should be going but not with that breather in it so i hope not! This is why i have asked for a bigger pic so we can see the routing of the pipe.

    Hope the rest of the breathers etc aren't setup similar to this lol

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,026
    Rides
    0
    wtf?? and it the toher nipple where the original hose should be open or blocked? i have no idea what is going on here

  6. #6
    Guest
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    203
    Rides
    0
    lol thanks, its how I got the car with this breather! Wont be with the car till Saturday so ill take another pic then, cheers. That pipe does indeed go to the brake servo!

    Will check the CAS timming at the weekend. Havnt driven it underload with the AFR gauge yet. Will get a new fuel filter.

    thanks.
    Last edited by van_denton_san; 10-06-2015 at 19:30.

  7. #7
    Dorset & Hants Rep pointz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    southampton
    Posts
    7,503
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by van_denton_san View Post
    lol thanks, its how I got the car with this breather! Wont be with the car till Saturday so ill take another pic then, cheers. That pipe does indeed go to the brake servo!
    But that is the brake booster it should be airtight! Your brakes must be awful.

  8. #8
    Guest
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    203
    Rides
    0
    Apparently its a one way valve!

  9. #9
    Guest
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    eaton socon
    Posts
    347
    Rides
    0
    take the valve off mate and report back

  10. #10
    Dorset & Hants Rep pointz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    southampton
    Posts
    7,503
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by john905 View Post
    take the valve off mate and report back
    It should have a one way valve but not with a breather filter on it!

  11. #11
    Guest ANDY black s13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    erith kent england
    Posts
    6,350
    Rides
    0
    it might be some niffty gadget valve thingy,but it could well be leaking and you don't need it most importantly
    I think its an ecotek valve thing for fuel economy or some other jibber jabber
    just remove it,ensure the pipe is sealed and refitted properly and recheck AFR's,
    it looks like the OE one way valve has been binned for the leak o matic valve,so your need one of them to remove it
    as mentioned timing needs checking or bad things can happen, don't boost it till both things are sorted tbh

  12. #12
    Guest
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    203
    Rides
    0
    surely it needs it?
    link



    will smarten it up though and get a proper one way valve.

  13. #13
    Guest
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    203
    Rides
    0
    Also its set at the factory timing, but will find a ignition lead and have a look at the timing.


  14. #14
    Dorset & Hants Rep pointz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    southampton
    Posts
    7,503
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pointz View Post
    It should have a one way valve but not with a breather filter on it!
    It should have a one way valve or check valve yes but not a breather.

  15. #15
    Dorset & Hants Rep pointz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    southampton
    Posts
    7,503
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by van_denton_san View Post
    Also its set at the factory timing, but will find a ignition lead and have a look at the timing.

    This is irrelevant 1mm could put your timing out by 2 or more degrees! Get it checked dude

  16. #16
    Guest
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    203
    Rides
    0
    yep will do thanks again

  17. #17
    Guest
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    eaton socon
    Posts
    347
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pointz View Post
    It should have a one way valve but not with a breather filter on it!
    yeah i mean take the after market valve off!

  18. #18
    Guest
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    203
    Rides
    0
    Ok had some time on this,

    Ive sent off for a one way valve but in the meantime I thought I would experiment a little.





    but I did find a leak on this rear cap of the inlet manifold





    Sorting all this junk out I have got the idle afr to 15.9 to 16.2!!

    So this brings me t the timing, I let the engine warm up but the idle is always at 1100 rpm, im sure it used to idle at 850 before I got the stage 2 chip put in but its most likely coincidence.

    So I know this is wrong but I timed it up to 15btdc but at 1100 rpm and its puts the CAS like this.



    I tried turning the little wheel in the ECU but this didn't effect idle at all, not sure if it effects that so put it back to where it was in the middle. LOL I just remembered that the wheel puts it diag mode lol as I did like a 100 times when trying to get this car running hahah

    AFRs didn't change, so I need to sort the idle out and re time I guess?
    Last edited by van_denton_san; 11-06-2015 at 20:23.

  19. #19
    Guest
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    203
    Rides
    0
    Right so I have got the idle AFR to 13.9 / 14.0 so that's much better than 18!



    When its warm it idles at 1100rpm so if I take the plug of the IACV it doesn't change the idle and if I clamp this hose the idle drops to like 500rpm
    and it goes really lean 18 and 19



    So I should just take this out and clean it all?

  20. #20
    Dorset & Hants Rep pointz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    southampton
    Posts
    7,503
    Rides
    0
    What does it idle at when cold (on coldstart)?

    I would clean out the iacv assembly as its probably gunked up anyway!

    Is that a one way valve? As otherwise you will be creating vacuum in the brake booster and im not sure that is a good thing. Also on idle i see around 16 afr so imo being at less than 14.7 @idle you have a vacuum leak (possibly from brake booster due to no one way valve)

    Which in turn wont help with you setting base idle and timing.

    You probably cant get it lower than 1100 as it is drawing air from brake booster. Try blocking it temporarily but i wouldnt drive with it blocked

    Edit: i just watched the video and i would seal that up.

    Remove it by undoing the 4 12mm bolts, clean up both surfaces and either get some gasket paper and make one or use some instant gasket
    Last edited by pointz; 12-06-2015 at 21:11.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •