Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Flooded engine (dumb question)

  1. #1
    Guest Kneel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    398
    Rides
    0

    Flooded engine (dumb question)

    I started my s13 with the AFM sensor disconnected earlier and its flooded the engine now. I left the car for about 10 mins then tried to start it and it tried to catch a few times but wasnt having it.

    I only have a micra battery so cant keep cranking it but i need to get it started.

    Is it better to leave it a while then try and start it with the throttle wide open or will that pump in more fuel?

  2. #2
    TMNT Kieran_E1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    15,329
    Rides
    0
    take the plugs out and leave it for a wee while

  3. #3
    Guest
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Burton on Trent
    Posts
    11,128
    Rides
    0
    Take fuel pump fuse out, floor throttle, crank until it coughs. If you have an assistant they can stuff the fuse back in as soon as it catches.

    I have had one occasion that engine wouldn't start but wasn't flooded - didn't cough. Had to pull the FPR hose off to get it to run. Took a lot of goes with the fuse before I worked out that it wasn't getting enough fuel and wasn't flooded.

  4. #4
    Guest Kneel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    398
    Rides
    0
    I left it for a while and then tried with the fuel pump fuse out and it coughed a bit. I put the fuse back in and it wouldn't catch. I have gone to take the plugs out but my dads taken the tool box up to the lakes and left it at the caravan :/

  5. #5
    Dorset & Hants Rep pointz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    southampton
    Posts
    7,490
    Rides
    0
    I had this problem with a m8s ca we had to remove fuel pump fuse, remove the hose that goes to the cold air regulator and cover with your thumb then spray easy start in where you removed the hose on the IC pipework.
    Keep spraying and put the fuelpump fuse back in then when shes running quickly replace the hose before it stalls!

    Worked a treat for us and no problems since. I will also add we were trying to get it going for 2 days trying the fuse trick and removing the plugs with no joy!

    But as skyshack says try the FPR hose trick 1st!

    Let us know how you get on.

  6. #6
    Head SXOC Security and small penis department TheBigShow's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Duston, Northamptonshire
    Posts
    11,306
    Rides
    0
    Mine done this quite a bit, used to pull the fuel pump fuse, crank it over for a bit. Fuse back in and job done.

    If the plugs are saturated in this weather they'll take a while to dry out.

  7. #7
    Guest jj205mi16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ayrshire, Auchinleck
    Posts
    1,408
    Rides
    0
    If the engine has been running very rich for long enough the plugs might well need cleaning/replacing did this before with my car wen I blew a boost pipe but limped it home, refused to fire, it had just gassed all 4 plugs.

  8. #8
    Guest Kneel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    398
    Rides
    0
    I had the fuel pump fuse off and cranked it and it spluttered a couple of times but as soon as I put the fuse back in nothing it just smelt of petrol. I took it off and cleared it out and tried again, still nothing. It spluttered to life temporarily with the AFM unplugged but I couldn't plug it back in before it cut out again and now it wont catch at all.

    I have given in and called out breakdown, I told the chap the problem and asked him to just take the plugs out for me and he didn't believe me and decided to spend half an hour messing about with the AFM and then finally agreed to take out a plug and have a look for me just to prove me wrong. When the plug came out the tip was soaked

    The breakdown guy said he didn't have time to take out, dry and replace all of the plugs so either he could leave me with it or tow me. I asked him to tow me as I cant call them out again and I dont have tools!

    If anyone near Bury has the right sockets to take out and put in the spark plugs a couple of beers will be in it for you?

  9. #9
    Dorset & Hants Rep pointz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    southampton
    Posts
    7,490
    Rides
    0
    Or just go get the appropriate socket for yourself, at least you will have it for future use! You cant own an sx and not own a basic toolkit lol

  10. #10
    Guest
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Southampton
    Posts
    394
    Rides
    0
    Cheaper to but a socket then buy a couple of beers surely...

  11. #11
    Guest Kneel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    398
    Rides
    0
    Ratchets and sockets are all in my toolbox, which is currently at our caravan in the lakes haha. I dont wanna buy a new socket set but can live with buying beers...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •