Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Just a bit of fun - my track day car

Rides

Just a bit of fun - my track day car

So I've been lurking on SXOC a while now, guess I should contribute something...

I few years ago I caught the trackday bug. Until recently my weapon of choice was a supercharged Exige, which was incredibly quick, but very twitchy on the limit. I was always very aware that a relatively light excursion into a tyre barrier could end in £1000s on repairs, which did not encourage me to explore its limits of handling very much. In the end it was a better car than I was a driver.

My partner in track-daying crime runs a modified mk1 MX5 and, knowing I was having a doubts about the Exige, let me share his car for a day at Mallory. It was a bit of a revelation. Despite having half the power and half the grip, it was twice as fun by virtue of its forgiving on-limit handling.

A few months later and the Exige was sold. A sad day, but it was time to move on. My criteria (cheap, rwd, lots of tuning potential) for its replacement had led me to either an MX5 or 200SX (although I had seriously toyed with the idea of stripping out an old Jag XJS or XJR). I happened to be browsing Pistonheads when my new car showed up. About a week later it was mine.

It’s a UK ‘98 S14A Touring with around 100K on it. It was previously a Class C write off two owners ago, but the seller had spent a lot of time represerving the underside. It was a bit of a punt, but the HPI checked out, the price was good, and I figured the guy wouldn’t have spent so much time and effort preparing it for a long and healthy life if it was structurally unsound. It has SXOC stickers on it so I guess at least one previous owner was on here – perhaps it will look familiar to someone….?