Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 79

Thread: HKS VS Poncams Vs BC stage 2

  1. #41
    Guest scottie200sx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    barnsley
    Posts
    159
    Rides
    0
    no info on the cams mine are standard. but for the mapping i used i guy called andrew carr and if you look at my sig thats the power he got out of it on a live map and he comes to you to do it

  2. #42
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    essex
    Posts
    593
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by scottie200sx View Post
    no info on the cams mine are standard. but for the mapping i used i guy called andrew carr and if you look at my sig thats the power he got out of it on a live map and he comes to you to do it
    i hope thats not advertising an un authorised trader

    the new world order is here. and its starting on sxoc

  3. #43
    Guest scottie200sx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    barnsley
    Posts
    159
    Rides
    0
    what u mean un authorised? wa just giving some advice

  4. #44
    TMNT Kieran_E1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    15,333
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kpkyliepage View Post
    i hope thats not advertising an un authorised trader

    the new world order is here. and its starting on sxoc
    keep pushing mate

    Quote Originally Posted by scottie200sx View Post
    what u mean un authorised? wa just giving some advice
    ignore him

  5. #45
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    essex
    Posts
    593
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by scottie200sx View Post
    what u mean un authorised? wa just giving some advice
    its nothing about you dude. im just making a point

  6. #46
    Guest scottie200sx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    barnsley
    Posts
    159
    Rides
    0
    ok no probs

  7. #47
    Banned sideways14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Drunk as usual
    Posts
    34,697
    Rides
    0
    So with the 264's i may need to be lowering the vtc cutout point to get the best out of them,makes sense i suppose....
    No probs there, will be interesting playing with it.

  8. #48
    Guest
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    cambridge
    Posts
    1,134
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Sideways14a View Post
    Another cock waving thread about which tuner has the biggest dong

    What about the discussion regarding the 256's v's the BC264s folks?
    wounder what he had for breakfast lol

  9. #49
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    essex
    Posts
    593
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Sideways14a View Post
    So with the 264's i may need to be lowering the vtc cutout point to get the best out of them,makes sense i suppose....
    No probs there, will be interesting playing with it.
    def something to bear in mind. and make the tuner aware of. what are you going to be using? bc 264's?

  10. #50
    Guest s13silvia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Kingussie
    Posts
    9,150
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kpkyliepage View Post
    shows how very little you know. they really are not good at all. if you ever actually look at what is on them, they suck. 80% of the map is stock usually
    Yep, but the flipside is they allow the car to run on stock boost happily and when the boost is upped they will still run fine providing you are within a certain threshold. Anybody going for big power figures would be an idiot to rely on a generic chip, however they DO serve a purpose on cars with mild upgrades i.e. intake, exhaust, +3-4psi boost depending on how well they are made and how much testing has gone into them. The price reflects this. My prelude ran better with a 'specialist' generic chip than it did tuned by a 'tuner' with a good rep (tool is only as good as the operator). If I was to go for bigger turbo's and what not on my 300 I'd be looking to get a map but so many people have rep's for no reason whatsoever, it's a risky market

  11. #51
    Banned sideways14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Drunk as usual
    Posts
    34,697
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kpkyliepage View Post
    def something to bear in mind. and make the tuner aware of. what are you going to be using? bc 264's?
    I will be doing the fiddling with the ecu and yeah i already have the 264's.

  12. #52
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    essex
    Posts
    593
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Sideways14a View Post
    I will be doing the fiddling with the ecu and yeah i already have the 264's.
    what management are you using?

  13. #53
    Guest martinbattye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Posts
    4,143
    Rides
    0
    if the tuner is worth there salt then you wont need to tell them to adjust cam overlap point..

    hahahaha.. check the mods tearing into you... quick someone hit the report post button... petty little men

  14. #54
    Guest diamondsink's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    2,885
    Rides
    0
    This thread seems to have gone to shit, oh well i have decided to have it done by Greg @ Protuner after a chat with him today and use 256 Poncams.

  15. #55
    Guest
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    West Midlands
    Posts
    8,230
    Rides
    0
    Poncams ftw

  16. #56
    Self confessed player of the pink oboe docwra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    ken is still God
    Posts
    35,078
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by martinbattye View Post
    hahahaha.. check the mods tearing into you... quick someone hit the report post button... petty little men
    Are you totally incapable of just leaving it alone? FFS, glad Ive stuck up for you all these times now - just keep making me look a dick eh??


    Diamondsink - Ive stayed off as I dont have any firsthand experience of cams in the SR, but from what Ive been told and read, poncams are definitely the best for the application you are looking at.

    Greg is also the first person Id take my car to, but hes quite a trek.Hope it works out well for you mate
    Quote Originally Posted by scimmy ben
    I get the feeling that this would only work if we could pursuade Ernest Borgnine to drive the Isle of Wight to Portsmouth hovercraft.
    Quote Originally Posted by sprout
    After I shave my balls swarfega helps soothe, but means the hair grows back quite quickly, so give it a go

  17. #57
    Guest DeanS15's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Eastchurch, Kent
    Posts
    3,710
    Rides
    0
    i thought he was banned anyway.....?

  18. #58
    TMNT Kieran_E1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    15,333
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DeanS15 View Post
    i thought he was banned anyway.....?
    temporarily and when he came back he was given a final final final warning. evidently it fell on deaf ears

  19. #59
    Guest DeanS15's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Eastchurch, Kent
    Posts
    3,710
    Rides
    0
    final, final, final warning.....lol.

  20. #60
    Guest ricky3510's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Essex Init Blud
    Posts
    2,665
    Rides
    0
    Not any experience of cams but have some off mappers and friends experience off them.

    One of my mates has been to both Steve and Jez and not had very good results with either the engine is still miss firing and neither off them picked up on it and said, didn't anything about it.

    Martin knows his 200's inside out and if it isn't to far its well worth the trip going to see him mate you won't regret it, my car runs amazing now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •