Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: S14 Centre console illumination

Rides

S14 Centre console illumination

Thought I'd change this to an How to!
    this is my first attempt at writing one so might not be great!

First you need to buy some bits (I got mine from Maplins) ...
    - LED's - (3mm Blue maplin code N31BY)
    They need to be the 3mm ones for the switches but I got different ones for the heater controls simply as they had limited stock.
    I would reccomend to try getting wide angle ones for the heater bulbs - something I might change to in the future.
    - Resistors (I got 4x M270R for the switches and 1x M43R fot the heater controls - as reccomended by guy in Maplins)
    - Shrink Wrap (I just got a mixed bag from Maplins)

Tools Required....
    Philips screwdriver
    Wire cutters
    Long nose pliers
    Tweezers
    Soldering Iron and solder
    Electrical Tester - to determine you have correct illumination wires.
    Lighter - to shrink the shrink wrap (could use soldering iron for this)

First remove the swich panel. Just pull up from the corners under the switches.
    Then unplug the wiring from the switches and push out each individual switch.
    Pull (hard - don't be scared!) the front cover of the switch and it will come off.

Then with long nose pliers carefully pull out the bulb and its holder. The bulb in the middle is the illumination bulb.

With the tweezers unwrap the bulb wire, it loops around twice (easy once you have it in your hand).
    Remove the bulb.
    I cut down the rupper where the bulb goes just to make more light spread and easier LED fitting.
    Now replace with a 3mm LED - This is tricky as the LED contacts are much thicker than the bulbs wires.
    I heated the contact up to bend easier. I only looped the contacts around once, no need to go back around. It's too much of a struggle anyway

Refit back into switch with longnose pliers.