Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with Nut/Bolts and Rust please..

Rides

Help with Nut/Bolts and Rust please..

Hello Everyone, im quite new to the whole 200sx scene and im not really sure why im taking on such a challege for myself :S lol. Let me explain....
    Ive had my S13 for about 4 months now and absolutely love it but she does have her issues with rust and scatched areas from previous owners. So me ( the idiot i am) came across SXOC member 'Petrol's s13 rebuild and have now become obsessed and my s13 is now sat on axle stands in my garden waiting to undergo a big re-vamp When i got underneath the car though the little re - build has now turned into a total rust festival and i have a hole in my chassis which is slowly craking away and looks like a 4inch river (Crack) that flows into a inch squared lake (hole) *excuse the poor analogy lol* Im going to weld a plate on the whole thing after a hefty prep sesh and hopefully that will sort it out. (Please add a comment of what to do if you think this is wrong because im just going on what i think would be right lol?)
    Im putting the welding back a couple of days and thought that it would be ok to start stripping the suspension/ hubs/ brakes/ track control arms and the rest of the bits under there. But this is where i have hit my wall and am not sure what to do without any more info.
    I started by trying to take the anti roll bar off which did not prove to be successful and this is where im stuck, as i dont want to do anymore damaged to bolts and nuts. The four bolts holding the u shaped bracket for the ARB that fasten to the chassis are like putty . I managed to get one of them off, but the other three have rounded because of the tightness.
    Also they all dont look like bolts?
    Are 2 of them nuts that fasten onto a threaded bar that is in the chassis ? Because i do NOT want to knacker the threads if they are?