Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 168

Thread: fitting GT2871 to near std engine?

  1. #1
    Guest
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    out there
    Posts
    42
    Rides
    0

    fitting GT2871 to near std engine?

    is it possible to fit an uprated turbo ie GT2871 to a near stock motor,?
    Mine as started smoking a little on idle when warm a sure sign of turbo wear / seal failure right.?
    Now I have a problem in that i don't want to pay 300 + for a re-con unit, I don't want to risk a S/H unit (it could be as worn as mine) as I plan to uprated to stage 3 over the next few months if seems the best solution would be to take advantage of Apex's low pice offer on an uprated unit, but does it NEED specific mods to run OK?
    Now I know it would need injectors ,z32 AFM and chip to run it's optimum performance, but surely if I limited boost to around 12psi it should be fine after all 12psi is 12psi no matter how the pressure is created right? or am I forgeting something important?
    current mods are FMIC ,K+N cone, de-cat custom single box 2.5" exhaust, walbro, colder plugs (NGK 7's) profec b boost control set @12psi

  2. #2
    Banned sideways14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Drunk as usual
    Posts
    34,697
    Rides
    0
    If i remember right there was a discussion about is xxPSI on a t28 the same as xxPSI on a bigger turbo a while ago and the consensus was it isnt.
    Also apex's offer is over isnt it???

  3. #3
    Guest
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    out there
    Posts
    42
    Rides
    0
    is the offer over? I've not checked to be honest I just remember seeing the
    gt2871r for 599 recently then mine starts smoking so it occured to me this while been excellent value would allow me to kill 2 birds with one stone in replacing my old turbo and preparing the way for forthcoming up-grades, it'sjust my luck for the turbo to fit OK and then find the offer is over

  4. #4
    Guest
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Isle of Doom
    Posts
    1,173
    Rides
    0
    12psi out of a std T28 and 12psi out of a GT2871R is NOT the same,

    yes, the pressure is the same, but the volumes of air are completely different,

  5. #5
    Guest
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    out there
    Posts
    42
    Rides
    0
    direct quote from Apex website
    'Straight fit ball bearing turbo capable of running 390+bhp. The only modification needed to fit this turbo is to enlarge the oil drain flange holes slightly, a two minute job.'
    the discription is misleading?
    OK so the volumes differ over std ie more air flow at a given pressure, then surely it's only a matter of turning the boost down till the correct fueling is obtained, this would be after all an intrim spec till larger injectors and chipped ECU are fitted

  6. #6
    Guest
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Location, Location
    Posts
    7,541
    Rides
    0
    The description is fair - it's talking about the physical installation of the equipment.

    Regarding whether you should or not....I have to say, do the job properly or don't do it at all. You seem to be simplifying things far too much. Besides even if you did fit it, you'd end up with a car that would be pretty unresponsive without the matching ecu calibration.

  7. #7
    Guest ByReaL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Bucharest/Romania or LA/Cali
    Posts
    976
    Rides
    0
    i believe AFM data will be used for calculating the load value, and at a certain load and certain rpm a certain amount of fuel and advance will be sued, so it it will do the physical fiting of GT2871R and use it at 0.4 bar (i believe tis is the standard boost on the actuator that come with the GT2871R - at least this value is on mine).

    maybe lase HP, maybe it could be made to run better, but at least it should run pretty decent and without any problems

    PS: My CA18DET on HD stage 1 and GT2871R at 0.4 bar run without any noticeable problems

  8. #8
    Guest
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    123
    Rides
    0
    Why don't you just fit it and run minimum boost to be safe?

  9. #9
    Guest
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Rainham, Kentshire
    Posts
    7,893
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by N200 View Post
    Why don't you just fit it and run minimum boost to be safe?
    He can't fit it as the GB on turbo's is over so this thread is now theoretical.

  10. #10
    Guest TurboDynamics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, Dorset
    Posts
    460
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by boss View Post
    12psi out of a std T28 and 12psi out of a GT2871R is NOT the same,

    yes, the pressure is the same, but the volumes of air are completely different,
    Correct, The 71 mm compressor wheel will flow more air than a std T28 c/wheel at the same boost pressure.

    Matt

  11. #11
    Guest
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Surrey
    Posts
    15,511
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by N200 View Post
    Why don't you just fit it and run minimum boost to be safe?
    that would be pointless

  12. #12
    aka Droolingorc Ghazoobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    S.E. London/Kent
    Posts
    14,083
    Rides
    0
    the GT28R is still on offer though
    bovvered?

  13. #13
    Guest
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    1,228
    Rides
    0
    the GT28r is the way to go on this at 499 it's very good value, I can see the logic in fitting the GT2871r and running reduced boost it makes the up-grade path that much easier but the GT28r is the best solution it as no down sides, plus should you go for stage 3 later you should be able to sell it on for a decent price.
    Also remember the chassis get this up to spec before going for 300+BHP stage 3, the beauty of modding the SX is that the mods can be undertaken in stages spreading the costs but it is best to do them in the correct order.

  14. #14
    aka Droolingorc Ghazoobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    S.E. London/Kent
    Posts
    14,083
    Rides
    0
    GT28r should be good for 330bhp'ish anyway so not far off what you'd get from a GT2871r with stage 3a chip.
    bovvered?

  15. #15
    Guest
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Location, Location
    Posts
    7,541
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Ghazoobe View Post
    GT28r should be good for 330bhp'ish anyway so not far off what you'd get from a GT2871r with stage 3a chip.

    Sorry dude, but that's just not right. For a start you'll be lucky to see more than 310 with the GT28r on these engines and the boost that can be run with that turbo, but more importantly torque in the midrange will peak at around 315lbft and quickly drop off. The 2871r provides a hugley different driving experience and power delivery, with approx 340-350 lbft of torque available over a much wider mid-rev range, and a much more potent/zingy top end. You can't just look at the peak values, you've got to look at the area under the curves.

  16. #16
    aka Droolingorc Ghazoobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    S.E. London/Kent
    Posts
    14,083
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by DanS14 View Post
    Sorry dude, but that's just not right. For a start you'll be lucky to see more than 310 with the GT28r on these engines and the boost that can be run with that turbo, but more importantly torque in the midrange will peak at around 315lbft and quickly drop off. The 2871r provides a hugley different driving experience and power delivery, with approx 340-350 lbft of torque available over a much wider mid-rev range, and a much more potent/zingy top end. You can't just look at the peak values, you've got to look at the area under the curves.
    my friend is running one and before he had it re-mapped it was running at 321bhp/278ft.lb @ 15psi
    bovvered?

  17. #17
    Guest
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Surrey
    Posts
    15,511
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Ghazoobe View Post
    my friend is running one and before he had it re-mapped it was running at 321bhp/278ft.lb
    which rolling road was it though?

    Mine made 220bhp on the dyno as a standard car

  18. #18
    aka Droolingorc Ghazoobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    S.E. London/Kent
    Posts
    14,083
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by JulesS14200 View Post
    which rolling road was it though?

    Mine made 220bhp on the dyno as a standard car
    Track n Road in Rainham, Essex.

    By far the best RR I've ever known. (specialises in track car work so everything has to be spot on and always is)
    bovvered?

  19. #19
    Engine Builder Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Bas Vegas
    Posts
    93,162
    Rides
    0
    You will never get that out of a 28R on a SR20

    RS yes but not the R

    Mine is making 290@17psi measured at SRR

    also that power figure is well wrong when you compare it to the torque, i would say that was putting out around 280bhp
    Quote Originally Posted by silverzx View Post
    I like Mark, he seems fair.
    Quote Originally Posted by Slip_n_slide View Post
    Mark is right.

  20. #20
    Banned sideways14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Drunk as usual
    Posts
    34,697
    Rides
    0
    28R is the same size as the stock t28 aint it? Its just a better spooling turbo. No way is it going to do 320-330 hp ...
    I wouldnt consider it much of an upgrade unless you really were deperate and wanted a straight swap for the stocker.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •