PDA

View Full Version : Builders anyone

turbo pete
05-11-2001, 20:36
Anyone know anything about plastering.

I have a rough uneven wall in a semi subterranean pantry/cellar. i want to convert it into an office.

Ideas so far.

Scratch coat.
Thermal boards with damp proof backing.

Got no idea how to do it all though.

Anyone help?

Turbo pete

Cayman
05-11-2001, 21:17
Are the walls damp ? If so you will need some form of tanking otherwise the plaster will fall off. What about the floor, assume concrete, but might need dampcourse, polythene and screed.

If the walls are brick and sound can you not leave as is ?

There was several compounds available for this type of work a few years ago, probably still around. Find a good builders merchants and ask them.

Cayman

RichardM
06-11-2001, 09:02
Coincedence eh!

I'm a Building Surveyor, This is going to depend on how good (how long lasting) a job you want to do.

If its damp to begin with, and if its below ground level it is likely to be so even if it doesn't visualy appear to be, have you got a friend with (or access to)a Protimeter? just to check it out and see what areas are "damper" than others.

Cayman is generaly correct in that for a 100% job you would need to tank the walls and the floor, full two coat asphalt is more than a tad expensive and probably overkill. A bitumen brush on compound would be a cheaper alternative.

A cement render on top, with a hard finishing coat would do the job.

Yes you could use wallboard but it wouldn't be "100%" in fact it is unlikely to anywhere near, and you shouldn't forget the floor.

Remember maintaining ventilation is critical to carry away moisture, and keep the room heated.

This is a very general, short form answer if you want to know more drop me an email.

Stuymac
06-11-2001, 09:19
Originally posted by turbo pete:
Anyone know anything about plastering.

.........Get a crate of Stella in - gaurenteed to get you well plastered http://300zx.co.uk/200sx/ubb/biggrin.gif