PDA

View Full Version : Help - Smokey, Rattly bag of nails.

Jezz_S13
21-06-2001, 08:45
Hello all,

Firstly being a Nissan newbie I must say what an excellent message board this is, very helpful indeed. You will however soon be p%^&ed off with my naive questions, but I learn fast.

I have just bought a 92 K reg S13.
Okay let me describe the most pressing problem I have.

Shortly after starting the motor it spews a fair amount of smoke (oil methinks), after a couple of minutes driving this seems to clear. Also when driving, when engine is not doing a lot of work I.E. when not accelerating or braking it rattles, sounds quite tinny.

Now I’m no expert but I think that it is the head, oil dripping down the valve stems and everything rattling around in there. Basically knackered head.

I don’t think that it is the turbo as by all accounts this is not likely to make a rattly noise, and is likely to smoke a lot and all the time. I’m not convinced it is the bottom end either, it might just about explain the noise, but not the burnt oil.

I don’t seem to lose any power.

Anyway if anyone has any idea what could be wrong, or better still can recommend somewhere I can take it for a proper diagnosis (Bearing in mind I’m in South Wales) I’d be very grateful.

I have a feeling that my next post will be about where to get a new/recon/reclaimed engine, Arse!

Many thanks,

Jezz.

------------------
Standard, yet smokey '92 S13.

Chimp
21-06-2001, 08:52
Hello Jez, Your engine is broke.