• Porterfield RS

11 4.66%
  • Other ?

33 13.98%
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The definitve S14 brake pad poll

Rides

The definitve S14 brake pad poll

Trying to decide which pads to use with my newly fitted Brembo discs.
    Rears will probably be EBC Blackstuff, but can't make my mind up on the fronts.

Who uses what ?
    Any noise issues ?
    Wear rates ?
    Price ?

etc etc.

Rides
    I've been testing various pads now, front and rear for 12 months or so.

Fronts
    Ferado DS2500 - the daddy as general concensus goes and I agree, great bite from cold, 100% fade free on the track, cost loads. Last me 1 trackday and thats it, brand new before a trackday - dead afterwards. £120 is still a lot of money. Tested many time between June 04 and July 05.
    Porterfield R4 - Similar to the DS2500 on track, but not as good on road/cold bite. Tested november 04
    Porterfeild R4S - Fine for cold bite / road use. Only used on my first trackday, I thought they were fine but I'm much harder on the brakes these days, not sure it they would be as good - tested Japfest 04 castle coombe.
    Project Mu (Street) - A very nice pad, fanatastic cold bite, didnt fade at all in normal driving. So impressed I was going to try them on a trackday, but before I did went out to see if I could get them to fade. And I did, although it took 4 very hard stops from 140mph to 40mph in very quick sucession. Cheap too £70. Tested - June 05 (taken off half worn before a trackday)
    Project Mu HC - Awaiting testing - £140, Papa Laz uses these.