Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Tips For Cheaper Insurance

Rides

Tips For Cheaper Insurance

From recent experience I found the following reduced my premiums.

Adding a named lady driver. Reduction £90

Having access / driving another vehicle. Reduction £40

This was with Admiral btw. So get your mum on there!

edit.

job title also makes a difference. I am an engineering manager in a drawing office.

if i am an engineer then it's +£35
    a manager is +£20
    but a drawing office manager = +£0
    so don't just pluck a job title out of thin air.

anyone got a link to the secret insurance book of job v risk?
    Last edited by Grim; 16-07-2004 at 14:14.

Rides
    It depends on the insurer. I asked about putting someone else on with Greenlight when I was taking my policy out - it's based on the main driver, so putting someone older/lady driver doesn't influence it...

Rides
    Put an RB25DET in

Pound for Power it works out cheaper
    Quote Originally Posted by TAS View Post
    I thought Matt_S invented SXOC
    Quote Originally Posted by 30PSI View Post
    Matt_S is the SXOC. They're the same entity.
    Quote Originally Posted by Matty2Fatty View Post
    Some say that he remembers when the whole planet was just a field & that his body is held together with cable ties and duct tape, all we know is, he's Matt_S

Rides
    I've made this a sticky, can we keep it on topic and only post good tips, although I do like Matt's idea a lot

Rides
    I actually played about with the online quote system thru admiral/elephant a while back, adding extra drivers to see what happened...

Adding father - dropped by a few quid
    adding mother - went up by a few quid (!!)
    adding partner - dropped by more than adding my father

Adding more than one person made it creep back up again. I have no idea how they work it out, I guess it's on relative age?

Stating your car is garaged or on a driveway also drops your premium, compared to parking it on the road.